Nicole Rice

Minimum wage to increase in 2019

By Nicole Rice, Policy Director, Government Relations

Capitol Update, Dec. 14, 2018 Share this on FacebookTweet thisEmail this to a friend

Starting January 1st, California’s minimum wage will increase to $12 per hour for employers with 26 or more employees and $11 per hour for employers with 25 or less employees, as a result of SB 3 (Chapter 4, Statutes of  2016) signed by Governor Jerry Brown in 2016. The measure is set to raise the minimum wage to $15 per hour statewide by 2022 (large businesses) and 2023 (smaller businesses).

The scheduled increases prescribed in the bill are set to take place over time, with the first increase having begun in 2017. The legislation also included a provision allowing the Governor to postpone a wage increase in the event of an economic downturn. The remainder of the schedule is set as follows:

Schedule for California Minimum Wage Rate 2019-2023

Date

Minimum Wage for Employers with 25   Employees or Less

Minimum Wage for Employers with 26 Employees or More

January 1, 2019

$11.00/hour

$12.00/hour

January 1, 2020

$12.00/hour

$13.00/hour

January 1, 2021

$13.00/hour

$14.00/hour

January 1, 2022

$14.00/hour 

$15.00/hour

January 1, 2023 

$15.00/hour

 

 

For more information, please see https://www.dir.ca.gov/DIRNews/2018/2018-98.pdf.

Read more Labor / Employment articles

Capitol updates archive