Energy-telecom committees named for 2007-08 session

By CMTA Staff

Capitol Update, Jan. 25, 2007 Share this on FacebookTweet thisEmail this to a friend

Legislative leaders have named the members of the energy and telecommunications committees.

In the Assembly, Speaker Fabian Nunez (D-Los Angeles) expanded the membership of the Assembly Utilities and Commerce Committee by one, making it a 12-member committee and named a new vice chair, Assemblyman Rick Keene (R-Chico).  The other committee members are:  Assemblywoman Karen Bass (D-Los Angeles), Assemblyman Sam Blakeslee (R-San Luis Obispo), Assemblyman Mike Davis (D-Los Angeles), Assemblyman Mervyn Dymally (D-Compton), Assemblyman Jared Huffman (D-San Rafael), Assemblyman Dave Jones (D-Sacramento), Assemblyman Paul Krekorian (D-Burbank), Assemblywoman Laura Richardson (D-Long Beach), Assemblyman Cameron Smyth (R-Santa Clarita) and Assemblyman Van Tran (R-Costa Mesa).

In the Senate, President Pro Tempore Don Perata (D-Oakland) named Robert Dutton (R-Rancho Cucamonga) as vice chair of the Energy, Utilities and Communications Committee, to serve alongside Senator Christine Kehoe ** (D-San Diego), who was appointed chair last fall.  Other committee members are:  Senator Jim Battin (R-La Quinta), Senator Ron Calderon (R-Montebello), Senator Dave Cox (R-Fair Oaks), Senator Alex Padilla (D-Pacoima), Senator Mark Ridley-Thomas (D-Los Angeles), Senator Joe Simitian (D-Palo Alto) and Senator Patricia Wiggins (D-Santa Rosa).

**Of note, Senator Christine Kehoe is a featured speaker at CMTA’s upcoming Winter Conference, Jan. 30th. Go to to register.

Read more Energy articles

Capitol updates archive 989898989