AB 32 Advisory Committees Named

By CMTA Staff

Capitol Update, Jan. 25, 2007 Share this on FacebookTweet thisEmail this to a friend

Pursuant to the Global Warming Solutions Act of 2006 (AB 32), the California Air Resources Board (ARB) has announced the membership of two new advisory committees—the Economic and Technology Advancement Advisory Committee and the Environmental Justice Advisory Committee.

The Economic and Technology Advancement Advisory Committee will meet quarterly and advise ARB on technological research and development opportunities and provide input to the California Environmental Protection Agency (Cal-EPA) Secretary’s technology incentive plan.  Committee members include technology experts and representatives of academia and stakeholder groups.  Among those named: Dorothy Rothrock of the California Manufacturers & Technology Association; Dominic Dimare of the California Chamber of Commerce and Rick Zalesky of Chevron.

The Environmental Justice Advisory Committee will advise ARB on the development of the scoping plan of emission reduction measures and any other pertinent matters.  The members of the committee were nominated by environmental justice organizations and community groups.  Among the groups represented: Latino Issues Forum; Center fir Race, Poverty and the Environment and Environmental Health Coalition.

Last month, the Secretary of Cal-EPA named members to a third advisory committee—the Market Advisory Committee—which was created by executive order, not statute, and will make recommendation by June 30 of this year on the design of a market-based compliance program.   The 14-member committee includes representatives of environmental groups and academia, but limited representation from business.

Read more Energy articles

Capitol updates archive 989898989