New Senate Republican Leader Senator Dennis Hollingsworth

By CMTA Staff

Capitol Update, Feb. 20, 2009 Share this on FacebookTweet thisEmail this to a friend

Amidst the ongoing budget saga playing out inside the State Capitol, the Senate Republican Caucus announced early Wednesday morning that Senator Dave Cogdill (R-Fresno) had been replaced as Senate Republican Leader. Senator Dennis Hollingsworth (R-Murrieta) was voted in by his caucus as Cogdill’s successor. The change was effective immediately.  Cogdill has served as Republican Leader for nearly a year and was a key part of the negotiating team, "The Big Five", that crafted the budget proposal currently under consideration (and much debate) before the Legislature.

Senator Hollingsworth currently serves as the Vice Chair of the Senate Natural Resources and Water Committee and is a member of the Senate Food and Agriculture Committee. He previously served as Assistant Republican Leader and Republican Caucus Whip, and was Vice-Chair of the Senate Budget and Fiscal Review Committee from 2004-2008. Hollingsworth was elected to the California State Senate in November of 2002, after serving one term as Assemblyman for the 66th District.  He now represents the 36th Senate District which includes parts of Riverside and San Diego counties.

For additional information on Senator Hollingsworth, visit his website at:

Capitol updates archive 989898989