Legislative Committee Chairs Announced

By CMTA Staff

Capitol Update, Dec. 18, 2014

The state Senate and Assembly leadership have announced their committee chairs for the 2015-16 Legislative Session.  In the labor arena, Assembly Member Roger Hernandez (D-West Covina) will continue to lead the Assembly Labor & Employment Committee.  Assm. Hernandez was appointed Chair of the committee in 2012 by then-Speaker John Perez.  He has proven to be a strong advocate for workers’ rights and protections and last year authored AB 1897 (Chapter 728, Statutes of 2014) that imposes greater liability on employers who use subcontractors.

Taking the helm of the Senate Labor and Industrial Relations Committee is newly-elected Senator Tony Mendoza (D-Artesia).  Sen. Mendoza served in the California State Assembly for six years, leaving in 2012 due to term limits.  While in the state Assembly, Mr. Mendoza championed such causes as making California the first state in the nation to ban the use of trans-fats in restaurants, allowing judges to sentence the parents of children with first-time gang offenses to anti-gang parenting education classes, and prohibiting the use of credit checks in the hiring process.  He is the past-Chair of the California Latino Legislative Caucus and was a member of the Assembly Agriculture, Elections, Rules, and the Arts, Entertainment, Sports, Tourism & Internet Media Committees.  

Read more Labor & Employment articles

Capitol updates archive 989898989