Kehoe named Senate Energy Chair

By CMTA Staff

Capitol Update, Sept. 8, 2006 Share this on FacebookTweet thisEmail this to a friend

Senate President Pro Tempore Don Perata (D-Oakland) has named Senator Christine Kehoe (D-San Diego) to be chairwoman of the Senate Energy, Utilities and Communications Committee for the 2007-2008 legislative session.

"For two years Senator Kehoe has done an outstanding job as chair of the Senate Local Government Committee, where she tackled tough issues like disaster preparedness and eminent domain," Perata said. "A leader on alternative fuels and energy efficiency legislation, Senator Kehoe is a natural choice for this key job. She will be a knowledgeable and effective voice for ensuring that Californians have a reliable and affordable supply of energy."

 In a statement issued after the announcement of her appointment, Kehoe said she appreciates Senator Perata's confidence in her and looks forward to "working with the industry, the regulatory agencies, consumers and other interested parties to devise comprehensive strategies that will help us meet the state's energy needs and keep California in the forefront of new technologies." 

Kehoe represents the 39th Senate district, which includes the city of Del Mar and parts of Lemon Grove, and the communities of La Jolla, Pacific Beach, Mission Beach, Ocean Beach, Point Loma, Mira Mesa, Tierrasanta, Clairemont, Linda Vista, Hillcrest, North Park, Old Town and downtown San Diego. She was elected to the Senate in 2004, and served in the Assembly from 2000 to 2004.

Read more Energy articles

Capitol updates archive 989898989